Quince Inspiration

It is that wonderfully fragrant time of year again 🙂

Its always a bittersweet task, rounding up my favourite quince recipes for the quince harvest, but the quinces do make a wonderful conclusion to the orchard year!

My firm favourite first up (click on the links for the recipes):

Candied Quince with Ginger

p1140050-2

This is a famous recipe this one is, featuring as it does in The Edible City, a kind of urban kindred spirit to this blog, written by London’s foremost forager, John Rensten, and published this last September by Pan Macmillan.

And what a classy publication this is (and not just because John features my Candied Quince with Ginger!). Beautifully illustrated by Gwen Burns, it features foraged food fit for a feast from a man whose “green vision” I can totally relate to:

Once turned on, your ‘green vision’ will be impossible to turn off: otherwise neglected street trees will suddenly bear fruit, patches of previously irrelevant land will become focal points and the city will reveal a network of free, edible treats, coming and going throughout the year.”

9780752266138the-edible-city

 My other firm favourites during the quince season include:

 Quince and Honey Sorbet

P1170380 (2)

Quince Chutney

Quince Confectionery

P1140641

and of course

Quince Liqueur

Happy quince season everyone!

p1170190

 

 

4 thoughts on “Quince Inspiration

Add yours

  1. My pleasure Circus Gardener! I don’t associate you with being short on inspiration but glad I could help in your hour of need 🙂 And John Rensten’s Edible City comes highly recommended from me – he also includes lots of really usable identification info.

    Like

  2. I love quince and have five in the garden. But you have left out the use of quince in my favourite type of cooking. I use it in stews and curries. I always add it in at the end so that it doesn’t soften too much. And not just a little bit for fun. I will replace all potatoes or sweet potato or pumpkin in any of my cooking. But I also use it the way you have.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

